The rite of the Triumph of Orthodoxy is celebrated in the Tithe Monastery

The rite of the Triumph of Orthodoxy is celebrated in the Tithe Monastery

21 March 2021

March 21, 2021, on the first Sunday of Great Lent, which is called the Week of the Triumph of Orthodoxy. His Grace Gideon, Bishop Makarovsky, the abbot of the Tithes Monastery of the Nativity of the Most Holy Theotokos, after the Divine Liturgy performed the rite of the Triumph of Orthodoxy.

After the service, traditionally, a prayer service for the Triumph of Orthodoxy is served. It includes the reading of the "Symbol of Faith", the issuance of "Eternal Memory" to all defenders of Orthodoxy, the proclamation of "Many Years" to all Primates of the canonical Orthodox Churches, and the raising of prayer for the Church. A special place in this service is occupied by the rank of anathematization. Anathema is proclaimed conciliarly not only to the iconoclasts, but to all who have committed grave sins before the Church. In particular, on this day all those who have strengthened the Orthodox faith for many centuries and those who today perform their ministry and their exploits for the sake of spreading the faith of Christ are remembered.

The Feast of the Triumph of Orthodoxy symbolizes the final victory over the iconoclastic heresy. Its establishment is associated with the events of the Council of Constantinople in 843, was convened by the pious Empress Theodora to restore icon veneration in the Byzantine Empire. In memory of this event, which is important for the Christian world and in memory of Empress Theodora, every year on the first Sunday of Great Lent, since before its celebration in 843 it fell on this very day, the Orthodox Church solemnly celebrates the restoration of veneration of icons.

В Десятинной обители совершён чин Торжества Православия

В Десятинной обители совершён чин Торжества Православия

21 марта 2021

21 марта 2021 года, в первое Воскресенье Великого Поста, который именуется Неделей Торжества Православия. Преосвященнейший Гедеон епископ Макаровский, наместник Десятинного монастыря Рождества Пресвятой Богородицы, после Божественной Литургии совершил чин Торжества Православия.

После богослужения традиционно служится молебный чин Торжества Православия. Он включает в себя чтение «Символа веры», вынесение «Вечной памяти» всем защитникам Православия, провозглашение «Многолетие» всем Предстоятелей канонических Православных Церквей и подъема молитвословия за Церковь. Особое место в этой службе занимает чин анафематствования. Анафема провозглашается соборно не только иконоборцам, но всем, кто совершил тяжкие прегрешения перед Церковью. В частности, в этот день вспоминаются все те, кто укреплял православную веру на протяжении многих веков и те, кто сегодня совершает свое служение и свои подвиги ради распространения веры Христовой.

Праздник Торжества Православия символизирует окончательную победу над иконоборческой ересью. Установление его связано с событиями Константинопольского собора 843 года, был созван благочестивой императрицы Феодоры для восстановления иконопочитания в Византийской империи. В память об этом событии, важном для христианского мира и в память об императрице Феодоре, ежегодно в первое воскресенье Великого поста, так как прежде его празднования в 843 году пришлось именно на этот день, П​равославная Церковь торжественно отмечает восстановление иконопочитания.