Letopis

Desyatinnaya tserkov
(Khram Uspeniya Presvyatoy Bogoroditsy)

On Starokievskaya Hill in Kiev - the first stone Orthodox church in Russia, erected by Vladimir Svyatoslavich on the site of the death of the Russian first martyrs Theodore Varyag and his son John.

The tithe church is so named because the tithe of the prince's income went to its maintenance. When laying the cornerstone in the presence of Metropolitan Leonty, the Greek and Russian bishops, boyars and countless people, Holy Prince Vladimir said:

Desyatinnaya tserkov

The first temple (996-1240)

The beginning of the construction of the Church of the Tithes on Starokievskaya Hill dates back to 989, which was reported in the annals:

In 1169, the church was plundered by the troops of Prince Mstislav Andreevich, the son of Andrei Bogolyubsky, in 1203 - by the troops of Rurik Rostislavich. In 1240, the hordes of Khan Batu, taking Kiev, destroyed the Tithe Church - the last stronghold of the Kievites. According to legend, the Church of the Tithes collapsed under the weight of local residents who climbed onto the vaults, trying to escape from the Mongols, but Yu. S. Aseev suggested that the building collapsed after the use of battering guns by the besiegers.

Second temple (1630-1828)

At the initiative of Metropolitan Peter Mogila in the 1630s, a small church was built in the name of the Nativity of the Most Holy Theotokos in memory of the lost shrine over the southwestern corner of the ancient temple, in which one of the oldest icons with the image of St. Nicholas, according to legend, brought by Vladimir from Korsun.

Third Temple (1842-1928)

In 1824, Metropolitan Eugene (Bolkhovitinov) ordered to clear the foundation of the Tithe Church. The Kiev amateur archaeologist K. A. Lokhvitsky, and then the St. Petersburg architect N. E. Efimov first discovered the plan of the foundations, found the remains of marble, mosaics, frescoes. On August 2, 1828, the beginning of the construction of a new church was consecrated, which was entrusted to another St. Petersburg architect Vasily Stasov.

The temple was built in the Russian-Byzantine style and did not repeat the original architecture of the ancient Church of the Tithes. During the construction, the church of Metropolitan Peter the Mohyla of the 17th century was completely dismantled, as well as about half of the foundations of the temples of the century preserved by that time. The construction of the temple cost 100 thousand gold rubles. The iconostasis was made up of copies of the icons of the iconostasis of the Kazan Cathedral in St. Petersburg, created by the artist Borovikovsky. On July 15, 1842, the new Church of the Assumption of the Mother of God was consecrated by Metropolitan Filaret of Kiev, Archbishop Nikanor of Zhytomyr and Bishop Joseph of Smolensk.

Летопись

Десятинная церковь
(Храм Успения Пресвятой Богородицы)

На Старокиевской горе в Киеве — первый каменный православный храм на Руси, воздвигнутый Владимиром Святославичем на месте кончины русских первомучеников Феодора Варяга и его сына Иоанна.

Десятинная церковь названа так потому, что на её содержание шла десятина княжеских доходов. Святой князь Владимир при закладке краеугольного камня в присутствии митрополита Леонтия, епископов греческих и русских, бояр и бесчисленного народа изрёк: «Даю церкви сей святой Богородицы от именья моего и от град моих десятую часть».

Десятинная церковь

Первый храм (996—1240)

Начало строительства Десятинной церкви на Старокиевской горе относят к 989 году, о чём в летописи сообщалось: «В лето 6497 ... Володимер помысли создати церковь Пресвятыя Богородица и послав преведе мастеры от Грек» (Повесть временных лет).

В 1169 году церковь разграбили войска князя Мстислава Андреевича, сына Андрея Боголюбского, в 1203 году — войска Рюрика Ростиславича. В 1240 году орды хана Батыя, взяв Киев, разрушили Десятинную церковь — последний оплот киевлян. По преданию, Десятинная церковь рухнула под тяжестью забравшихся на своды местных жителей, пытавшихся спастись от монголов, однако Ю. С. Асеевым высказывалось предположение, что здание рухнуло после применения осаждающими стенобитных орудий.

Второй храм (1630-е—1828)

По инициативе митрополита Петра Могилы в 1630-х годах над юго-западным углом древнего храма была построена небольшая церковь во имя Рождества Пресвятой Богородицы в память об утраченной святыне, в которой была выставлена одна из древнейших икон с образом св. Николая, по преданию, привезённая Владимиром из Корсуня.

Третий храм (1842—1928)

В 1824 году митрополит Евгений (Болховитинов) поручил расчистить фундамент Десятинной церкви. Киевским археологом-любителем К. А. Лохвицким, а затем петербургским архитектором Н. Е. Ефимовым был впервые открыт план фундаментов, найдены остатки мраморов, мозаик, фресок. 2 августа 1828 года освятили начало строительства новой церкви, которое доверили другому петербургскому архитектору Василию Стасову.

Храм был построен в русско-византийском стиле и не повторял первоначальной архитектуры древней Десятинной церкви. В ходе строительства была полностью разобрана церковь митрополита Петра Могилы XVII в., а также около половины сохранившихся к тому моменту фундаментов храмах века. Строительство храма обошлось в 100 тысяч золотых рублей. Иконостас составили из копий икон иконостаса Казанского собора в Петербурге, созданных художником Боровиковским. 15 июля 1842 года новую Десятинную церковь Успения Богородицы освятили митрополит Киевский Филарет, архиепископ Житомирский Никанор и епископ Смоленский Иосиф.