Worship on the day of the Cathedral of the Most Holy Theotokos

08 January 2022

On January 8, 2022, on the day of the Cathedral of the Most Holy Theotokos, a solemn divine service was held in the Tithes Monastery of the Nativity of the Most Holy Theotokos.

The Divine Liturgy was led by His Grace Gideon, Bishop Makarovsky, he was concelebrated by the monastery brethren in the priesthood.

After reading the Holy Gospel, a fervent prayer was raised for an end to the coronavirus epidemic and for doctors who are fighting for the life and health of patients.

The day after the feast of the Nativity of Christ, the Orthodox Church, with songs of praise and thanksgiving, addresses the Mother of God, who became the chosen instrument of Providence, who gave birth to the Savior. This gathering of believers was called "the Cathedral of the Most Holy Theotokos".

Together with the Mother of God, this cathedral also commemorates the memory of St. Joseph the Betrothed, King David (ancestor in the flesh of the Lord Jesus Christ) and St. James, the brother of the Lord, the son from the first marriage of St. Joseph the Betrothed, who accompanied the Mother of God and the Infant Jesus with flight to Egypt.

The establishment of this celebration dates back to the ancient times of the Christian Church. Already Epiphanius of Cyprus, as well as Saint Ambrose of Mediolan and Blessed Augustine of Ipponis, in their teachings on the feast of the Nativity of Christ, combined the praise of the born God-man with the praise of the Virgin who gave birth to Him. An indication of the celebration of the Cathedral of the Most Holy Theotokos on the next day after the Nativity of Christ can be found in Canon 79 of the VI Ecumenical Council (691).

Troparion, voice 4

Blessed Bogomati, Mother of God, Your honest Cathedral is adorned with many different kindnesses, gifts to Ty are brought, to the Lord, by many people of the world, tear our sinful bonds with Your mercy and save our souls.

БОГОСЛУЖЕНИЕ В ДЕНЬ СОБОРА ПРЕСВЯТОЙ БОГОРОДИЦЫ

08 января 2022

08 января 2022 года, в день Собора Пресвятой Богородицы в Десятинном монастыре Рождества Пресвятой Богородицы было совершено торжественное богослужение.

Божественную Литургию возглавил преосвященнейший Гедеон епископ Макаровский, ему сослужила братия монастыря в священном сане.

После чтения святого Евангелия была возведена сугубая молитва о прекращении эпидемии коронавируса и о врачах, которые ведут борьбу за жизнь и здоровье больных.

На следующий день после праздника Рождества Христова, Православная Церковь с хвалебными и благодарственными песнями обращается к Богоматери, ставшей избранным орудием Промысла, рождшей Спасителя. Это собрание верующих было названо "собором Пресвятой Богородицы".

Вместе с Богоматерью, в этом соборе также совершается память святого Иосифа Обручника, царя Давида (предка по плоти Господа Иисуса Христа) и святого Иакова, брата Господня, сына от первого брака святого Иосифа Обручника, который сопровождал вместе с отцом Матерь Божию и Богомладенца Иисуса при бегстве в Египет.

Установление этого празднования относится к древним временам Христианской Церкви. Уже Епифаний Кипрский, а также святой Амвросий Медиоланский и блаженный Августин Иппонийский в своих поучениях на праздник Рождества Христова соединяли хвалу рождшемуся Богочеловеку с хвалой рождшей Его Деве. Указание на празднование собора Пресвятой Богородицы на следующий день по Рождестве Христовом можно найти в 79 правиле VI Вселенского Собора (691 г.).

Тропарь, глас 4

Пречистая Богомати, Богородице, Собор Твой честный украшен многоразличными добротами, дары Ти приносят, Госпоже, многи мирстии людие, Узы наша грешныя раздери Своею милостию и спаси души наша.