Bishop Gedeon honored the memory of the Vladimir Icon of the Mother of God in the temple of the city of Yekaterinburg

08 September 2021

On September 8, 2021, His Grace Gedeon, Bishop Makarovsky, on the feast day of the Vladimir Icon of the Mother of God, celebrated the Divine Liturgy in the Church of the Vladimir Icon of the Mother of God in the city of Yekaterinburg. 

The Vladimir Icon of the Mother of God, one of the most revered icons of the Most Holy Theotokos, according to legend, was painted by the Evangelist Luke. 

At the request of his pious contemporaries, the Apostle painted with a brush on a blackboard the face of the Mother of God with the Child in her arms. When the icon painter brought this and two other icons to the Mother of God, She repeated the prophetic words spoken to the righteous Elizabeth: "From now on, they will bless Me, all give birth," adding, "... let the grace of Rhodeshagos from Me and Mine be with holy icons." it is written, as legend says, on the board of the table at which Jesus Christ, the Virgin Mary and Joseph the Betrothed ate in the Savior's youth. She is the only icon in Russia that has survived to this day in its primeval state. This is not a list, not a copy, but a genuine shrine that has passed through two millennia. 

Today, the Vladimir Icon of the Mother of God is in the State Tretyakov Gallery in the church of St. Nicholas in Tolmachi located with it, since then it is constantly on display in the temple-museum. To preserve the icon, special conditions were created in the temple - a special icon case was made to protect the shrine from external influences, an even climate is maintained in the temple premises, which contributes to the protection of the shrines located in it. The state of the icon is monitored by the museum staff.

Епископ Гедеон возглавил престольное богослужение в храме на честь Владимирской иконы Божией Матери города Екатеринбурга

08 сентября 2021

8 сентября 2021 года преосвященнейший Гедеон епископ Макаровский в день памяти Владимирской иконы Божией Матери совершил Божественную литургию в храме Владимирской иконы Божией Матери города Екатеринбурга.

После литургии преосвященнейший владыка поздравил настоятеля духовенство и прихожан с престольным праздником!

Владимирская икона Божией Матери, одна из самых почитаемых икон Пресвятой Богородицы, по преданию, была написана Евангелистом Лукой.

По желанию благочестивых современников апостол изобразил кистью на доске лик Богоматери с Младенцем на руках. Когда иконописец принес эту и две другие иконы Богородице, Она повторила пророческие слова, сказанные праведной Елизавете: "Отныне ублажат Мя вси роди", – присовокупив, – "…благодать Родшагося от Мене и Моя да будет со святыми иконами".Владимирская икона Божией Матери писана, как гласит предание, на доске того стола, за которым в юности Спасителя трапезовали Иисус Христос, Дева Мария и Иосиф Обручник. Она единственная икона в России, которая дошла до наших дней в первозданности. Это не список, не копия, а подлинная святыня, прошедшая сквозь два тысячелетия.

Сегодня Владимирская икона Божией Матери находится в Государственной Третьяковской галереей в находящийся при ней храм святителя Николая в Толмачах, с тех пор она постоянно находится в экспозиции храма-музея. Для сохранения иконы в храме были созданы особые условия - изготовлен специальный киот, защищающий святыню от внешних воздействий, в помещении храма поддерживается ровный климат, способствующий защите находящихся в нем святынь. За состоянием иконы следят сотрудники музея.